For many generations in my family, being Jewish was a secret. So much a secret that it was almost forgotten! My mother has vague memories of her grandmother singing to her in Hebrew when she was a child, and frequently has dreams about braids in connection with this family secret; where the braids are morphing into challah or havdalah candles, or where a mother is hiding a secret family name within the folds of her braids. I am the last practicing Jew in my family, and I feel the need to combine this with my artwork. Because I have only dreams and fragments left in my family, instead of thick strong roots, the artwork I’ve created so far is very surreal and magical, like trying to remember a far away dream before it vanishes. Click the picture below to view details of that painting.

Click here to view my etsy shop: ShirChadash.etsy.com

